Archinect
anchor

Internships in International Offices in Germany?

offing

Hello all,

I'm an American student studying a full-time Bachelor's in The Netherlands, and would like to find an internship in an international office in Munich or Berlin. I lived in Germany for two years before starting school, and I really liked it there. Not to mention the job market is a lot better than in The Netherlands. My German is conversational, but not good enough for a professional job, I fear. Hence the reason looking for an international office. I don't need the internship until next April, but would like to start searching now so I'm prepared for the application process in September/October 2014.

Questions are:

Is it reasonable to hope to find a job where speaking fluent German is not necessary?

What is the best way to go about applying for an internship? 

I'm open to other countries as well, UK would be another choice but more difficult as I have friends in Munich and Berlin that I could live with for a few months but don't know anyone in the UK. Any recommendations?

Thanks!

Mar 21, 14 10:50 am
IamGray

No German fluency is fine. A fair bit of competition for jobs means it will certainly help though.  But if you say your language level is "conversational" than I'd argue that's enough to get by in a normal office environment. Sure, you might not know what a Geschossdecke or a Leistungsphase is, but you'll get the hang of things quickly.

The best way to go about it? Simply find the offices you'd be interested in working for and send them an email. Include a well written, targeted cover-letter, a German conforming CV (including birthdate and GASP! a photo), and a sample portfolio (keep it super brief, next to no text, probably only 4 or 5 projects. A teaser really), with a link to a more comprehensive portfolio online or the promise to send more detailed work if they're interested.