Archinect
anchor

Advice needed for applying M.arch I

Hi, guys 

I'm currently a civil engineering student in UIUC. I need some advice on applying for M.ARCH I programs. 

Personal information:

I have only 2.24 GPA(mainly because my poor grades on engineering course), which is not promising at all. However,I 'm working very hard to restore my gpa. I have been making gradual progresses on my academics, in addition to that, I am applying a minor in architecture. I have done a pretty god job in past architecture courses. If everything works out, I can raise my GPA to around 2.6-2.7 before I applied.
  I had 1 internship last summer in a A/E firm, I got another one from a small architecture studio this summer. I have also been volunteering for a non-profitable organization to help poor people building their houses from this semester. 
  I have some painting and sketching foundations from courses I took in my high school.

Schools I plan to apply:

Primary:  Harvard, Upenn, Columbia, Cornell
  Secondary: UCLA, Sci-arc, Pratt-Institute, U-Michigan
  Tertiary: UIC, SAIC, Parsons, U-Kansas

I will choose 2 among each class

Questions:    

1. I have being hesitating between applying to summer programs and going to intern. summer programs may help me build my portfolio and connections vs. intern can strengthen my resume (but I can also uses job cases in my portfolio) ? which one should I go for ?

2. I do have a very weak GPA. Although I have seen people leaving comments like "gpa really doesn't matter" However, they do matter according to my personal experience(advisers, example of my friends, ect) How can I compensate my weak point and maximize my chances?

3. What's my possibilities of getting into 1st class schools if I have a above-average portfolio and good GRE score?

4. Do the schools I plan to apply look plausible? If you have better recommendations or strategies for applying, please leave your comments(Coasts and Chicago area preferred)