Archinect
anchor

Ways to get into architecture (or similar) without an architectural degree? (UK)

JamesA

Are there ways to get into architecture (or similar) without having an architectural degree? I live in the UK.

I have a degree in industrial design; I've worked as an architectural visualiser and, as my father is a property developer, I've been around architecture and drawings most of my life. I'd love to practice architecture; maybe get an internship in a studio. But will I be able to get in, or work my way up to becoming an architect? Or maybe there are very similar positions that would suit me? - My passion is in the form and user experience of spaces, and not in the technical aspects.

Mar 18, 14 10:54 am
JamesA

Bump

Mar 21, 14 6:40 am  · 
 · 
Nats

The architectural degree isnt very important you will get on a diploma course with another similar degree if you can show some aptitude to architecture especially if you can show some work experience in the field as well. The diploma is important though as is the final professional exam.

Sep 19, 17 10:43 am  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur

I'd love to fly commercial jets. I think I'd be very good at it but I am much more interested in carrying those cool matching suitcases on wheels and making small talk with the stewardess than learning all the technical stuff. How can I be a successful pilot without having to put in the required time and effort?