Archinect
anchor

Thoughts on UIC architecture...

back_forth

Any current students or alumni can chime in on their experience, opinion of the program, etc please? 

Mar 9, 14 2:22 pm

I graduated from UIC 2 years ago. I attended for both my BS Arch and MArch. I really did love it. You will learn a lot of theory as they put emphasis on teaching  you how to think about creating meaningful discussions of architecture vs industry standards. Be prepared, you will be expected to make a thorough argument for any proposal no matter how good it looks or work you put into a project. It's not really a technical school. They aren't heavy on the practice of architecture as this is something you will learn on the job. Im working at Bjarke Ingels Group now. I can say my years at UIC had definitely helped me in my career.

Best of luck

Mar 9, 14 8:27 pm  · 
 · 
C. Watts
@ Hp87 : I was accepted there too and will most likely go to the open house (still waiting on UPenn, Pratt, Sci-arc, USC and UCLA) I don't know much about the school except that it is more theory than technical (which I prefer) and that the current dean is a composer or was a composer? Which I think is pretty interesting. The student portfolios posted on the site are worth a look, it seems that the students have a lot of freedom in their work.

Thanks for sharing Maureen. I think we all get so worked up about needing to go to Ivy League schools that we forget that students can be very successful regardless of where they attend school.
Mar 9, 14 8:41 pm  · 
 · 
Roshi