Archinect
anchor

Hillside cost savings

bjsint

Hi everyone.

Im am in the preliminary stages of a new construction project in Eagle Rock, located on a hillside.

My plan is to take a rough design to an architect and then have them flesh it out. As this is my first project I am trying to be as cost effective as possible, so even this early on I am looking at all my choices through a cost savings filter.

The first major decision is whether to design a ranch style house or a two story house. The lot is quite large so space is not an issue, there is no 'need' for a second floor. The only reason would be aesthetics and cost. I understand that usually a ranch house is more expensive, the only reason I ask if two story is still a cheaper option is because of it being on a hillside. Two stores will mean deeper foundations. I know to give a proper answer you's have to see the lot etc but In general is two story still cheaper on a hillside?

The house will be minimalist modern. With that, what sort of roof design would be most cost effective that looks modern. Id like to use just a low pitch one way slope across the whole length of the house(if that makes sense - not sure of the correct name). So almost flat. It looks simple so naturally as a non professional I would assume it is, but I'm sure you guys can put me straight.

Those are two main aspects I'm concerned with. Other than that any design quirks/tips that can be used to keep costs down would be appreciated!

Thanks in advance

Ben

Mar 4, 14 6:51 pm
JonathanLivingston

Your probably about to get chewed out for asking for free design advice on this forum. but what the heck I'm feeling generous today.

First; Going up is almost always cheaper then out, your not talking deeper foundation, but perhaps wider footing, its a minimal expense compared to addition earthwork.