Archinect
anchor

WHEN YOUR ABOUT TO GET CANNED

Mar 3 '14 10 Last Comment
MyDream
Mar 3, 14 3:46 pm

So, I have been working for about 7 months and i think i am really skating on thin ice. I am making mistakes on redlines some of which i am just staring at with my mouth open, my boss's are starting to get a different attitude with me and i'm biting my nails pretty much. Is there anything i can do to not be so....duh.....??!! I am hating myself here and hanging on by threads............ :(

Lian Chikako Chang
Mar 3, 14 4:25 pm

Can you approach one of your bosses, let him/her know that you want to do better and ask for their feedback or help in terms of how to improve? At least that will communicate that you want to do well and improve, and at best, maybe they'll be able to share some of their hard-won wisdom or point you towards some tips or resources.

curtkram
Mar 3, 14 4:30 pm

first of all, slow down.  do the work you're doing, then look at the redlines/look at the monitor and double check that you've picked everything up.

second, get a highlighter.  once you've accomplished the redline revision, highlight it.

if you still fall short of perfect (which sometimes happens), review your own work.  once you've completed whatever you're doing, print it out, get a highlighter with a different color, and review everything.  look at walls and wall tags and dimensions and all that, then highlight what you reviewed.  when you're done reviewing, if there is something not highlighted, that means you didn't review it.  so, review and highlight

gruen
Mar 3, 14 5:13 pm

Both posters above have good advice. Also...when u highlight, be sure to COMPLETELY highlight it out.

And if you don't understand something-ask.

And, think very carefully about the actual sizes of things, draw them to their real size. Get manufacturer info if necessary.

bklyntotfc
Mar 4, 14 3:08 pm