Archinect
anchor

College Student Needs Help!

houseof7

I am in my first semester of college and I realized I want to pursue architecture. Unfortunately, the school I am currently attending only offers Interior Architecture and Design. In addition, this school is really expensive.

I thought that I wanted a B.Arch. I've looked into 5 year programs all around the US and I'm finding a few I might have a shot at. I know this major is very demanding and time consuming and I would have to be really passionate about it.

That said, I have always loved buildings and architecture. When I was little I loved going to see model homes and walking through stores like Ikea. I definitely like style and design but I wouldn't know where to start when designing a building. Is this something I would learn to do in a B.Arch program?

Recently, I have been thinking about how I know I love big fancy houses that are architecturally beautiful. I probably like looking at them more than I would like building them. This made me think of real estate or something that involves working with beautiful houses.

So I guess my dilemma is that I know I love beautiful houses and I definitely want to have a career in this kind of field, like real estate. But I'm not sure designing houses is what I want to do.

So: Are there undergraduate degrees out there that would involve architecture? What kinds are out there? I am open to the idea of pursuing something like this for undergrad and getting my M.Arch if I want to. What kind of programs do you think would be good for this?

Any feedback is welcome. Hearing anything from people in the field is helpful. Any advice you have that may be slightly unrelated is appreciated as well.

Feb 28, 14 8:19 pm
etinoco