Archinect
anchor

where interns get paid the most

zonker
Non Sequitur

so.....

what's your point? These are not architectural intern statistics. Not a fair comparison if that's what you're trying to do.

Feb 28, 14 4:08 pm  · 
 · 
zonker

just showing comparisons between different fields. 

Feb 28, 14 4:12 pm  · 
 · 
w4000

i was going to be snarky and say business/finance, but i see that was your point

Feb 28, 14 4:21 pm  · 
 · 
LITS4FormZ

Draw 10,000 sketches or write a million lines of code. Both will help you hone your skills and take the same commitment and rigor. All a matter of interest, both are creative pursuits with the same end product. The compensation however is not the same. 

Feb 28, 14 5:33 pm  · 
 · 
zonker

the same level of thinking and creativity - I used to be a programmer at one time and worked in tech. When I switched to architecture, my pay went down 50% -- and stayed there.

Feb 28, 14 5:51 pm  · 
 · 
stone

Fellas -- in IT you write a million lines of code and then you sell several million copies at what, $500 a pop?

In our field, you draw 10,000 sketches (most of which are round filed) and you get one (1) large building built (maybe).

Methinks the economics of the two business models are not comparable, and therefore essentially meaningless.

Feb 28, 14 6:09 pm  · 
 · 
bowling_ball

Xenakis, in the short time you've been here, you've whined non-stop about your drop in pay. Nobody forced you to change fields. I feel your pain about this issue but it's getting tedious and predictable. 

So what's your solution?

Feb 28, 14 10:19 pm  · 
 · 
zonker

Just accept it

Mar 1, 14 1:06 am  · 
 · 
bowling_ball

If your plan is to accept it, then a good start would be to quit whining in every single thread you get involved with. 

Acceptance means moving on.  Let's either have a healthy discussion about wages (etc) or just move on. Please.

Mar 1, 14 10:49 am  · 
 · 
the orange menace