Archinect
anchor

Somewhat concerned I'm not on the right track to be a "well-rounded architect"

jackie jormp jomp

It's been 2 years since I graduated with a B.Arch, and after working at a small firm with mainly interior design work (which I got to get a small amount of CA experience) in China, I moved on to an international firm that does mainly competitions and big projects in China that are quickly handed off to Local Design Institutes, after Design Document stage. The work is fun and colleagues great, but I worry that when I'm not exactly getting the kind of experience that will make me an "architect" (IDP concerns included). 

Ideally, I would love to have accumulated decent CA experience by the time I reach 5 years of experience, and could go on to work as a project architect at wherever I go next.  As comfortable as I am right now, I worry that my career path is a bit derailed...In addition to that, my bf and I are also looking into moving to Europe after our stint in China, possibly in 2-3 years. I worry that no one in Europe (or anywhere outside of China for that matter) would take on me with the kind of experience I'm getting at the moment. I'd like to hear from anyone who could have travelled down this path (spending their first coupla years doing fluffy-ish designs but wanting to get back on more concrete work) more insight into how I can possibly steer myself back onto my "Ideal Career Track"...thanks all.

Feb 27, 14 4:23 pm
ArchNyen

2 words. Hakuna Matata

Feb 27, 14 9:29 pm  · 
 · 
sameolddoctor

You will have to find an office in Europe that works in China (which are there quite a few of), get in the door, and start exploring what other "real" (so to speak) work you can do and start working towards IDP etc. One of the few good things about our profession is that it take forever to get anywhere, so we do have a lot of time!

Feb 27, 14 10:07 pm  · 
 · 
cg_8