Archinect
anchor

Is Architecture degrading or is it just Me?

net dude

I've been working in Architecture for 10 years now and the conclusion I've come to is that being an Architect ( I'm recently licensed ) is degrading and bad for one's mental health. I earn less than anyone in my family ( 44,000 before paycuts )including my brother's part time working wife or my niece who's 20 and sells cars. The companies I have worked at essentially need draftsmen and refuse to allow any upward mobility. I understand paying your dues but after 9 years of drafting and licensure? Come on already. Every year its the same at reviews, " Dude, your role is really expanding within the firm. This year we should let you run with a couple jobs". Then the 2% raise which usually covers about half my gas for the year and right back to drafting. Gee thanks. Then theres the bosses; Golf playing bad skin old men with absolutely no design skills, or intention of doing good design, and raarely if ever even look at their own projects or review anything that goes out. Just squirt out a sketch of some awful rec center or strip mall and move on while Im left to deal with the angry clients and contractors. How do they even stay in business and get repeat business? Im pushing 35 and essentially feel like a worthless turd. The best part is I'm supposed to be thankful I even still have a job!!! My favorite task of my week is listening to the partners talk about how "when I was your age" stories about buying houses, cars kids etc. and their stories of architectural conquest from the 80s and cool they were even though the colored pencil renders on the wall would indicate steaming dog shit instead, even by 1985 standards. I listen as if I care but really am trying to not rip their frigg'n heads off, somehow I feel my enabling their ego stroking is what keeps me employable.