Archinect
anchor

14-16 young architect/designer forum

trecaines

Is there anyone who is between the ages of 14 and 16 who wants to be an architect and is proficient in auto cad, 3ds max, vray and photoshop? Just wondering because I haven't seen much young people taking to architecture, many of them seem to be worried more about popularity and   "swag" I just want to know what the next generation of architects and designers are going to bring to the stage and what my competition as a young architect myself, is going to face! 

Feb 15, 14 6:49 pm
KECS

I'm 16 and (at the moment) want to become an architect/developer. I recently got auto cad but haven't had the time to learn it yet. I know how to use photoshop... And i'm not interested in popularity or "swag".. haha

Feb 15, 14 7:19 pm  · 
 · 

If I was at the age of 14, I would have surrounded myself in the art scene, and try to soak up as much as I can, experiment with things and explore new perceptions. Computer softwares are an integral part of Architecture, and one needs to keep updated with it. But, I feel at your age, you should be doing the previous one and at the same time balance with the later one.

If you're referring to the "teens" as the "young generation of architects", then you're totally mistaken. As far as I know, in architecture, it's the mid 30-s and 40s which is termed as the teens in architecture.

Architecture is more about art, exploration and patience, than popularity, swag and competition.

Feb 15, 14 9:23 pm  · 
 · 
camhard

At that age, focus on software if you want, if you're fooling around with it, but who cares if you can draft a building. Sagar is on point that it's much more about art, exploration, cultural immersion, having fun etc. 

Feb 16, 14 3:05 pm  · 
 · 

Anyone who wants to be an architect needs to have a lobotomy.

The NYT has an article today on interships repacing entry level jobs, and how many interns go from one to another to another to another ...