Archinect
anchor

Best CC in California for arch?

Radiocrux99

Hi guys, 

I'm making the career switch to architecture after a career in the legal field and I'm wondering where to start. I have a non design bachelors degree so I've decided to sign up for one of the local CC programs in Los Angeles. 

I know PCC is the best one but it's too far and is only a transfer program. I'm looking for a program that's both design focused and practical enough to enter the field as a tech. Later on I'd like to transfer to a masters in arch. 

With PCC out the next best programs I've found are at Pierce College and Glendale College. 

Which program would be better? Which one looks like it would be the most practical and yet still be designed focus enough to transfer to a university? 

http://www.piercecollege.edu/staging/departments/architecture/certificates.asp

^ Pierce College 

http://gcc.glendale.edu/degrees/certificate/architectural_drafting&design.htm

^ Glendale College 

I would really appreciate the advice guys. 

Feb 12, 14 12:04 am
Radiocrux99

Is there anyone that can help? 

Feb 13, 14 10:18 am  · 
 · 
BulgarBlogger

Why don't you just get your Bachelor's in Architecture? You may have to put more money up front, but in the end you'll save money because you won't need a Masters... just some food for thought. 

Feb 13, 14 11:30 am  · 
 · 
Radiocrux99

I at least want to save money by taking a years worth of design courses and build a portfolio. 

Starting a BA at the local uni is too costly. California CCs are super cheap. 

Feb 13, 14 12:16 pm  · 
 · 
Marina CM