Archinect
anchor

Using a Compass

archiaspirations

Hello Archinecters!

I am a new student of Architecture this semester, and our first studio assignment is to make a series of geometric constructions. Now here comes my problem. I am not very good with using a compass. So, I was wondering if any of you lovely Archinecters had any tips or tricks for making more uniform circles, not tearing the trace, etc.

I know it seems infantile, but I'm new to this and would appreciate any advice.

Feb 2, 14 12:38 pm
ArchNyen

This ritual needs to be preform before doing any serious drafting or else the Architecture God will enforce non uniform circles and tearing of tracing paper upon your project.

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?v=671783759545456&set=vb.140597285997442&type=2&theater

Feb 2, 14 1:51 pm  · 
 · 
Medusa

If you are drawing on trace, put something resilient underneath, like a peice of chipboard so that your compass has something to bite into.  Make sure that whatever you place underneath is large enough to cover your entire drawing surface so that your paper lays flat where you are drawing the circle.  To actually draw your circle, don't just hold the thing upright and spin it.  You have to tilt the compass and spin it around using a sweeping motion until you get all the way around.  It's hard to describe, but you will know when you do it right.

If that doesn't work, try asking a retired drafter at your local senior center. Or consult with a museum that specializes in the curation of ancient tools.

Feb 2, 14 1:53 pm  · 
 · 
ArchNyen

Go to your teacher and ask him/her where is the numeric pad and enter button?

Feb 2, 14 2:02 pm  · 
 · 
archiaspirations

I realize that the compass is not exactly cutting edge technology, but my program does not allow us to use computers for any of our assignments until our third year. Silly, I know but it is the assignment and I do appreciate the advice.

Feb 2, 14 2:33 pm  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur