Archinect
anchor

Internship in EU vs States?

jesslai

Hello~

I am a recent graduate with a BA in architecture from UC Berkeley, (yes still fresh and young, ready to be butchered) and is hoping to get a fulltime paid internship mainly in CA, NY or in London, Copenhagen. I am just wondering what is the difference in working in the states vs in London or CPH, mainly in pay, benefits, opportunities, etc.

I am aware that pay for internships is low, and many are unpaid, though things are trying to change for the better. Any comments, suggestions, or questions are welcome.

Thanks a bunch! Cheers~

Jun 8, 11 2:32 pm
IamGray

Well, you're right. In Europe, the situation for internships can be pretty grim.

You're looking at probably earning only 300-900euros /mth. In Berlin, you could possibly swing-it financially, but In Copenhagen or Amsterdam, forget about it.

Being a Praktikant/Stagiaire/Trainee/Intern is the dirty punishment that European students have to endure for attending essentially tuition-free universities.

That isn't to say that I don't recommend going that route altogether (those things can often lead to real jobs down the line, and the experience is for some worthwhile ), but if you're already saddled with debt and/or care about maintaining a nice standard of living, I'd caution against it.

Jun 8, 11 5:24 pm  · 
 · 
jesslai

Thank you very much for your comments and suggestions. :) I will definitely reconsider my options, seeing how it's really tough to get by only with 300-900 euros/mnth.

Jun 28, 11 10:45 pm  · 
 · 
miesian