Archinect
anchor

Review and Salary Advice

So I have my bi-yearly review coming up and I am planning on asking for a raise. I feel that I am underpaid for the work I do and am looking for advice on A) whether comparatively others think I am underpaid and B) what/how I should go about asking.

I'll start by laying out everything about where I'm at. I have been working at my office for 9 months and this is my first architectural job. I am currently still a student going for my BArch with 4.5 out of 6 years completed. I work full time and go to school at night. My title is an architectural intern and I make 30,000 a year without benefits, with 10 vacation days and paid overtime. The firm I work at is a small firm (12 architects) which focuses on educational/healthcare/labs.

I feel that I have a lot of responsibilities/opportunities for my experience and position. I work on every level of projects from sd to ca. When I was hired I was the first person in the office with proficiency in Revit and have developed that program for both CDs and renderings for the firm. I have a few projects that I basically run by myself from design to pricing so far, which I consult minimally with a project architect on. I sometimes, but not always, go to design and construction meetings by myself. And we've landed our biggest project ever recently, which I have so far had a major role in schematic design.

I also work part time at a restaurant on the weekend for the extra money. There have been a few times that I was asked to come into work on the weekend for some important deadlines, but because of my job I was unable to. I believe the only person that knows that I have a second job is the project manager that I work with most and I don't think he will be in the review.