Archinect
anchor

looking for business partner - architect

saiapd

registered architect, running own individual practice (columbus - oh) looking for another registered architect (marketing oriented) or professional (that is able to take on marketing efforts - as I'm more design oriented) that like to join in. equal efforts, equal payments, etc. all fair. must be very professional, computer savvy and effective communicator and reach to target. I have + 12 years of experiences, so I'm looking for someone with similar experience. send an e-mail to : architect70 - at - gmail.com to start the discussion. we will take it from there.

Jul 28, 09 3:05 pm
dsc_arch

wow, 311 views but no posts.

There are a lot of great nuggets to discuss here:

How do you define equal efforts if one person is Mr/Mrs outside and you are mr./mrs. inside?

How long have you been running a practice?

From time to time we have entertained bringing on a technical lead to do the duties of Mr/Mrs inside. We always looked at a multiple of .66 average 5 years earnings to define firm vaule and a buy in based on that amount.

Anyone have experience buying in?

Aug 2, 09 8:20 pm  · 
 · 
eigenvectors

architecture firms are not worth any buy-in, really, unless they had 30 year contracts for doing all new wal-marts in China or something....

Aug 2, 09 8:48 pm  · 
 · 
dsc_arch

I don't agree.

If I had to do it all over again I would have bought into an established firm instead of building one from scratch. It took at least four years for me to feel comfortable with all aspects of running a firm. I paid for my MBA at the school of hard knocks at least five times over - yes costing about $1,000,000.00

After 11 years I feel we have a solid reputation in our community and that too has value. Our process, our staff and our client add value to our company.