Archinect
anchor

UofT MArch Application

clairemk

Hi All,

I am currently a fouth year undergraduate architecture student at the University of Waterloo and am applying to UofT for my MArch. I have atleast an A- average in every term I have completed at Waterloo, HOWEVER, last year I did an exchange term in Switzerland and didn't do so well (low B average) due to the language of study not being my first language (and my preoccupation being travel, not school). Unfortunatly, because I have not yet completed my degree, these grades will be used to calculate my final year average, and even though I anticipate an A average this term, I am worried that my marks will not be good enough. My portfolio and letters of reference are both good (I hope), and I have two years internship experience at one of Toronto's top architectural firms. Does anyone know if UofT uses a marks based cut-off before reviewing portfolios, like Waterloo does for its undergrad? What are my chances at advanced placement? Any thoughts from current, or past UofT MArch students are much appreciated!

Thanks!

Website (in progress): http://cargocollective.com/clairekurtin

Dec 19, 13 5:39 pm
Bench

Honestly?

I wouldnt worry about it. Undergraduate and Graduate admissions are completely different. You're coming from the best undergrad program in Canada; they likely won't care. You can also indicate your rational in your letter of intent should you choose, although I don't think its necessary.

Dec 19, 13 5:54 pm  · 
 · 
clairemk

Thanks Ben,

That makes me feel better, and haha, I don't know if i would consider Waterloo the best anymore, I would say these days, Ryerson and McGill are just as good -- but I don't know of anyone from my program who has gone to UofT recently (maybe i'm just misinformed), and I'm sure admissions are competitive. 

Dec 19, 13 6:18 pm  · 
 · 
SpatialSojourner