Archinect
anchor

3 - years, 2 - degrees, 1 - job interview = 0 job offers

TAB1006

I write to you today as a broken and dis-heartened architecture graduate so here I am a freshly signed up Archinet member seeking the advice and counsel of the community in the hopes that I might be able to gain some insight as to what I am doing wrong.

My background is simply this, went to a 2 year technical school and earned an associates in drafting, this degree inspired me to seek enrollment at a local state college for a BA in Architecture, transferring in and graduating in just under 4 years. While there I did everything I could to get involved with my new chosen career path, serving on the American Institute of Architecture Students chapter, being elected to an officer position for 3 years, 2 as President. I made my time there well spent, sitting on the board of directors for the AIA as a student rep, organizing numerous events, networking and getting on a first name basis with dozens of local professionals and volunteering my time for unpaid internships at firms located a 1-2 hour drive away. All while maintaining a 3.8 GPA, working 2 jobs and raising a family.

Then 2 years ago I graduate second in my class and with a full year of job hunting under my belt, ready to hit the ground running with a kick ass resume, proven portfolio and belonging to numerous architecture groups and volunteering at non-profit organizations.

Now fast forward to present day and I have sent hundreds of resumes to every firm in my state, attended every event I possibly could to network with professionals and my results so far, 1 interview and no job offer.

What I want to know is if there is some secret I'm not aware of to getting a job in the architecture world? I am currently employed as a salesman at a big box building materials store and hate every second of it, I'm not learning anything related to my degree and am slowly losing everything I worked so hard in school to learn.