Archinect
anchor

NCARB - Favorite word seems to be NO

MrlwDesigns

My question in general has to do with how we as a profession can petition for changes within a governing body that affects the profession nearly universally? 

NCARB sets the rules, but doesn't seem to have to answer to anyone. I'd love to petition the entity for rule change, but as there's no one person seemingly responsible for anything, and no real 'complaint department' - how does one begin? 

Recently, after months of exchanging emails and phone calls - I was told point blank that I fall into a specific and rather large loophole in the profession, and was informed that there are a LOT of us swimming around in here. 

My specific situation is this: I graduated with a non-professional degree, and was licensed in a state that doesn't require a M.Arch to sit for the ARE. I sat for, and passed the ARE and got my stamp in 2004.

After recieving my license to practice, I moved to another state to broaden my career horizons and began work for a nationally, and internationally awarded firm. My work has been published, peer reviewed and won national awards, and with 20 years of experience in the field in all aspects of project management, team management, building client relationships, contracts, and project scopes ranging from kitchen remodels to $300mil medical research facilities and stadiums - because of a single criteria in the NCARB BEA (Broadly Experience Architect) program - I'm not allowed to obtain my license in this state, and seemingly any other. 

The line item is this: 

"PLEASE NOTE THE FOLLOWING:

You may only include in your dossier projects completed in the jurisdiction in which you hold or held registration for the project duration as examples of learning through experience.

Projects completed prior to initial registration in a U.S. jurisdiction and projects completed in a jurisdiction in which you do not or did not hold registration for the project duration are not eligible."