Archinect
anchor

PhD (at ETH Zurich) or work in practice

fenix

Hello everyone,

I finished my Master studies a few months ago and right now I asking myself whether it is better to enroll in some PhD course or to work in practice. My main wish and goal, if I may say it like that, is to work in some architectural firm, but I also think that enrolment in some theoretical research will help me to better understand architectural theory that will further help me to be better in my practice. Is that make sense to you? And beside that when you finish phd you can work as professor, too.

Because all of that I am really unsecure in my further career steps. What is your experience with this question? Is it possible to work in practice as an architect and at the same time to be enrolled in phd studies? Or is it better to first finish a phd and then to find job in practice? I don’t know if is that maybe late, I mean.. who will hire me with 28 years and no experience… Or is it more logical to find a job first and then after a few years to finish a phd, or maybe not finish a phd at all? Ah I dont now.....

Write what are you think, this is interesting dilemma and question isn’t it?

Nov 19, 13 10:58 am
Roshi

I don't think pushing yourself for more and more "theory" practice will help you land practical experience. Usually, people who pursue PHDs do so knowing their intent a long while before, and have a specific research purpose in mind. I've never heard anyone getting a PHD solely to land a job at an architecture firm.

If you're having troubles landing a job, I can assure you it is not because you are under-qualified in your education. Any average Master's degree should have given y ou plenty of theory to wrap your mind around, not to mention your undergrad, if it was design-related, would have given you a head start.