Archinect
anchor

Other Careers with an Architecture Degree

cooldude1988

If you haven't read my last entry Arch-stressed, I'm currently studying a Bachelors Degree of Architectural Science @ Ryerson. However, i dropped out of studio since i was overtly stressed out.

I'm starting to consider other careers, but i personally do not want to quit my degree since i'm in my third year and all that time and money spent - i just don't want it to be in vain. I still have the option to get into Building Science or Project Management as a major.

I have a prof that has an MBA along with a M.Arch and he suggested to us that if it's hard getting a design job in a firm, alot of architecture firms look for people with a business background to guide in management and operation of the firm.

I was just curious if you guys know people that still did a bachelors degree in architecture but then switched career paths at the masters, or found fulfilling careers related to architecture, but not design practice per say. I personally feel that an architectural education is valuable since its very multidisciplinary. I love the courses i'm taking since it looks at architecture through various lenses. Part of me feels like looking into business, graphic design, interior design, or architectural writing....but i do not know how to branch to it.

i'm just wondering if people have found an architectural education very helpful in the non-arch careers they are in.

Mar 12, 09 2:27 pm
FortheloveofDRay

Def. in the same position. I'm currently in a 4 yr architectural technology undergrad with hopes of getting a construction management minor. I could go for a 5 yr b.arch if i get in but im debating whether i should.

now for me its not so much that i dont like design, its more about the status of the traditional architect career. i come from a family who needs to work hard for what they get, and im hoping all of this hard work can pay off.

thus my confusion with the traditional Architect career.