Archinect
anchor

Current Civil Engineering Undergraduate Student (and Future Architect) Weighing Options

Spathene

Hi everyone!

I've read posts from this website for 1-2 years already, and I thought it would be a good thing to finally register and post a message here to hear different opinions than mine.

I am currently a first-year undergraduate student at Concordia University (Montreal) in civil engineering. I am also a "co-op" student, which means that I will have the chance to work full-time for 3 semesters in the span of my four years here. This means that I will have a total of ~1 years of relevant experience BEFORE graduating.

I've always been fascinating by construction/building/creating. In high school, I understood that it translated into two career options: civil engineering and/or architecture. I really, really, REALLY love architecture. There is no question about whether I want to be an architect or not here; I will do everything in order to become an architect. The question is: do you guys think that I should wait before getting my MArch or not?

Right after getting my BEng, I will have two options: start my career as a civil engineer, work for a few years and then do a MArch OR do a MArch right away. I'm currently thinking of doing a MArch right after getting my civil engineering degree because... that's what I really want to do! I'm currently in civil engineering because, basically, I want to have a really deep understanding and knowledge of structures. So pursuing architecture right after understanding all that engineering stuff would be logical. But, in terms of salary, is it worth it to jump into architecture right away? Probably not because, of course, engineers make more money than architects right after getting their diploma...