Archinect
anchor

Current Grads Will Retire 12 Years Late, Thanks Student Loans

LITS4FormZ

Thanks to student debt, study predicts new median retirement age of 73 instead of the supposed average of 61. With life expectancy at 84, that's only 11 years of official retirement. 

http://www.nerdwallet.com/blog/investing/2013/73-retirement-norm-millennials/

The numbers make sense, very few people I graduated with (2009/2012) are saving for retirement, homes, kid's college funds, etc. I tend to "over save" but I know I'm in the extreme minority. Also, with fewer companies offering 401k matches (mine doesn't) saving for retirement is that much harder.

Oct 24, 13 9:28 pm
Non Sequitur

Retirement?

Ha, that's a nice idea.

Oct 25, 13 8:15 am  · 
 · 
bowling_ball

Retirement?  After being laid off and taking even just a few months to land on my feet, what small savings I had are gone and it's paycheck to paycheck for me.  $45k in school loans will do that to a guy.

Retirement? Ha.

Oct 25, 13 10:09 am  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur

Bowling Ball, only 45K?  lucky.

Oct 25, 13 10:25 am  · 
 · 

The only "retirement" I'll ever see is the one that is colloquially referred to by hit men.

Oct 25, 13 11:00 am  · 
 · 
curtkram

pfft.  i would consider myself lucky if i was retired by hitmen.  i expect fukishima fallout to kill me before they even get the chance.

Oct 25, 13 11:09 am  · 
 · 

In all seriousness: I can't imagine being able to retire, and I *do* have a retirement savings plan.  I just don't see the numbers working out in my favor in the next 20-30-40 years.

Oct 25, 13 11:11 am  · 
 · 
Volunteer

Unless you work for yourself or are employed by an exceptional firm you will be out the door and on the street by age 62. And what may be an "exceptional firm" today may not be when you approach your sixties. If the OP's firm is not even making a 401k match I doubt they would have any qualms about giving him the heave-ho.

Oct 25, 13 11:23 am  · 
 · 
DeTwan

Sad... so sad =(