Archinect
anchor

Entry Level Architects

JRGZ1023

I graduated in May 08 with an MArch and am just wondering how other recent grads are doing right now. I had a job for four months in New York before being laid off and it just seems that there is absolutely nowhere to look at this job level. Compared to when I was searching 6 or 7 months ago it seems that many jobs of similar responsibilities have been retitled as internships allowing companies to get away without paying for work. I don't know many other recent grads especially around NYC area and would like to know how people with a degree and minimal experience are faring?

Jan 5, 09 5:08 pm
jaymo24

hey, same here. i just graduated April 08 with a BArch from outside the US and moved here to New York. Its been half a year already and I still haven't found any job. I think what makes it more difficult for me is that i didn't get my degree here.

I got sick of hopeless job-huntings (i think i applied to more than 30 NYC firms and didnt get any single call) so i stopped and started working on my grad school apps. hope i get in as i dunno what i'll be doing if i don't. might as well look for other kinds of jobs to keep me running. it's really a bad time for the field.

Jan 5, 09 6:43 pm  · 
 · 
Nicholas Brewster

These posts aren't desirable but definitely insightful. I've been trying to find folks who just graduated (preferably with a MArch in the NY area) to ask them how their job hunting is coming along.

My Brother is pursuing his undergrad degree in Civil Engineering (part time) and he's moving to his 3rd firm in 2 years. He has a couple years experience from abroad but the layoffs keep coming.

I'm applying for a MArch program for Fall 2010 and I was wondering how things would fair after graduating.

JRGZ1023 when you had the 4 mth job was the pay decent? Did you get the job through your school's career center or did you find it on your own? Where you able to accumulate any IDP credits since graduating?