Archinect
anchor

Workstation - portable-latop or fixed-desktop - architectural rendering/CAD/photoshop

oxvigs

Hey everyone,

I want to get your opinion and advice on my dilemma when buying a new workstation. A dilemma I think many people are struggling with..

Right now I found the two, very different options I think are the best ones (listed below). I will primarily be using the computer for home-office purpose, but i'm not sure how much time I actually will be sitting in front of it, according to my situation?

My situation. I'm an urban designer looking for a job, and whenever I find a job I'll be working in the office most of the time using their computers. I want to be able to do 'homework' making 3D modelling in rhino, 3ds max, vray, revit as well as video / image editing in photoshop, after effects.

I therefore want to ask you guys if you think the Thinkpad will give me a satisfying result compared to the Desktop (and of course the prize)? And if you have any pros / cons that will convince me about the one option over the other, please bring them to the discussion ! I really tried to convince myself, but perhaps your experiences / opinions could help me. :)

Laptop option.

ThinkPad W530 Laptop

http://shop.lenovo.com/dk/da/laptops/thinkpad/w-series/w530/ (in danish)

price: 14.483 DKK ~ 1942 EUR (incl. 16 Gb Ram bought external)

• Intel Core i7-3630QM Processor (6M Cache, up to 3.40 GHz)
  • 15.6" FHD (1920 x 1080) LED Backlit Anti-Glare Display, Mobile Broadband Ready with color calibration sensor
  • NVIDIA Quadro K1000M Graphics with 2GB DDR3 Memory
  • 16 GB DDR3 - 1600MHz (1 DIMM) (Corsair Vengeance 2 x 8 GB)
  • 500GB HDD, 7200rpm
  • 9 Cell Li-Ion TWL 70++
  • Intel Centrino Advanced-N 6205 AGN
  • Windows 8 64 ( I don't need this, but I can't get it without)
  • 1 Mini DisplayPort with audio, 1 VGA port, 2 USB 3.0, 1 USB 2.0 (1 always-on), 1 3.5mm combo mic/headphone jack

Desktop option

Vision DTP-450 Workstation