Archinect
anchor

Architectural language help?

4aarksey

Hi,

I am a first year student studying architecture, one of our first briefs was to go out and sketch a list of structures relating to certain phrases used in architecture. I was just wondering if anyone could help me with a few as I'm not quite sure of their meaning.

these phrases are:

Surface plane

Node

Dynamic space

Static space

Axial

all of these phrases must relate to a structure or space that I can go out and sketch.

thanks

Aaron

Oct 3, 13 4:37 pm
Non Sequitur

Now, why would we do your homework for you?

Your problem is that these things are predominantly subjective. These "phrases" do not have set definitions (like a doorknob for example, not much room for elaboration) and it's up to you to hunt for an equivalent to their abstract "meanings" in your environment.

What is axial but a crossing, or a perpendicular, or a parallel, etc relation of one "thing" to another thing, or perhaps it's 8 other things. That's the fun of first year.

Oct 3, 13 4:47 pm  · 
 · 

Yes, just make up some bullshit story to accompany your sketches and you'll be fine. Start working on storytelling. You'll fail a few times, but it'll get better and you can get away with almost anything you design.

Oct 3, 13 4:51 pm  · 
 · 
boy in a well

>weeps quietly

>returns to 4chan

>starts thread about hot female architects

Oct 3, 13 5:03 pm  · 
 · 
Roshi

I'll bite.

Axial - Think of a structure that acts as an axis for its surroundings, or incorporates an axis. This could be a space too. You could interpret that a boxing ring is axial, because everything that happens in the stadium revolves around the boxing ring. Food for thought. Or a carousel, but that's too obvious.

Node - Think of a structure that is perhaps a rest stop, or a "point" on the urban grid. It could be one of many.