Archinect
anchor

Funding possibilties for M.Arch

Hey everyone,

This year, I'm re - applying for M.Arch in few parts of the world. Last year I applied for 9 universities in US and I got into three of them. They were

1. Columbia University ( No Need-based Scholarships for International students, they said I had a chance of getting assistantship but for that I had to wait for a semester and pay the tuition fees before hand. It was too big of a risk to take )
  2. University of Michigan (Same case scenario)
  3. Washington University -St. Louis ( got 50% funding of $22,000 with guaranteed amount of $66,000 for the course of three years. It was a big deal but still 50% was way out of my league)

Now this year, I am still looking out for possible fundings before applying. But as an International student, my chances are dropped by almost 50% as the scholarships are limited to US citizens and it's residents. Now that sucks pretty much.My friends who chose MSc in Architecture are fully funded but with M.Arch it's a totally different scenario.

I wish to know if there are any means by which I could have a better chance ,not just to get into the university but with adequate fundings. Here are my few queries

Will reaching out to professors and showing interest in their research fields will raise the chances of being provided an assistantship ? Which will result in total waiver of the fees. ( in this case, I found out that you need to get accepted in the universities first, get registered, wait for a semester, then only you're eligible. But I've had my friends, in different faculties, who got accepted by the professor, before doing GRE and he got full funded.) Is it just pure chance or it's something I'm missing out ?