Archinect
anchor

Junior positions or intern?

pfarmer

Hi all,

I will like to ask opinions regarding the feasibility of hoping to work in a landscape/urban planning office. (I am not architectural-trained)

I graduated last year from a design school (in)famous for its conceptual design training which i really enjoyed. I was a trainee model-maker at an architecture office during my studies and straight after graduation, I worked for an architect (although on more conceptual/research projects, but with a diverse group of other experts) which ends recently.

Since then I have set my mind to work more in the context of landscape/urban planning as I really enjoyed working and thinking in a bigger scale. I have been sending portfolios to a list of offices (medium and large ones) with some rejection replies from a few of the medium-sized ones.

Link to portfolio: http://issuu.com/faizzohri/docs/130712_faiz_bin_zohri_portfolio

What I have is a conceptual mind and imagination, work very quickly with hands (modelmaking etc..) - as I am trained to design by making, and I am aware this could make me a "dinosaur" in most offices.

What I do not have is experience in computer drawing (I can work with Rhino/Autocad/Sketchup, but have never drawn a construction drawing from scratch. I have experience in producing technical drawings for products and molds though). And of course, no architectural training.

With my skill set and portfolio, do I have a chance of getting a position in a landscape/urban planning office (if we ignore the hundreds of architecture graduates out there:) ? What kind of role can I play in these offices?

Crit and opinions please. Thank you!

Sep 16, 13 9:45 am
backbay

a very limited role that is probably unattainable for someone with your experience, if you don't want to do construction docs.  everyone in this field likes hands-on, designing, and thinking conceptually.

Sep 19, 13 7:37 pm  · 
 · 
Beepbeep