Archinect
anchor

Lost: Architecture Career

TheThirdHeat

I graduated 2010, from UC Berkeley, with a B.A. in Architecture,I still have no job experience in Architecture-- no internship--nothing. I've been so discouraged for the past three years and I feel like everyone else is moving forward leaving me behind. I have so much doubt and there are so many things I don't know how to go about doing.

With all this time, for the past three years, I have just been learning different programs like 3DS Max, and Revit. I feel like I have fairly good mastery over Rhino and V-ray and can produce realistic images from them. I've been learning how to program in the Python language. And now I'm teaching myself Grasshopper for Rhino.

I haven't been able to find a job so I've just been taking classes in my local community college. Taking classes on Building Inspection learning about building codes and title 24 chapter 6 of the California building. I've just been trying to learn more to be more attractive to employers.

I'd like to say that for the past three years I have been working on portfolio--but I still don't have a version I can be proud off. I have a bunch of projects but none are fleshed out to completion. My 3D models are thought out and modeled but graphical representations like sections and plans are lacking. I tend to focus more on renderings--because honestly I've just been hoping that my 3D renderings are enough to land me a job.

Can some one please just direct me in how to progress in life. I feel like I have a lot to offer. I've applied architecture related jobs near where I live but they are mostly drafting jobs--and sadly enough I still can't get employed as a drafter.

Is there something wrong with me that I can't get any job experience? Should I just go to grad school; can I even get into grad school? Are my renderings not even as good as I believe them to be? I am desperate for advice and guidance because obviously how I have been operating is not working.