Archinect
anchor

architecture or architectural engineering?

Bilal Ozdemir

Hi everyone!! I'm a college student looking forward to be an architect. I have always desired  to be an architect since i was 14 and i have done searches about this career for years then I went beyond and learned programs like Autocad, Revit architecture, Archicad. In few days I will start college so i am starting to take classes that are equivalent to the university I am planing to  tranfer BUT!! i am undecided of whether i should go ahead to study architecture or architectural engineering. I saw that in earning the bachelor of architecture i don't need any super hard math classes and this made me anxious because i thought that being an architect was also about math, physics etc. so I'm confused whether the bachelor of architecture will give me any limitation on my career later in life?. I'll be really glad if i can get an answer to my confusion. I also want to know the major differences between architecture and architectural engineering? and some helpful advices? before I can make up my mind. Thank you so much.

Aug 26, 13 12:50 am
natematt

I feel like a lot of people get sucked into AE because they have a similar confusion, but lets be clear, AE is not an architecture degree it is an engineering degree. Unless your intent is to get a 3 year master degree in architecture after your AE degree you will not be able to become a licensed architect to my knowledge, and you will probably be better suited for working in engineering than architecture.