Archinect
anchor

Design Competition: Pay or Not to Pay

seatac

I wanted to get feedback on some ideas I've been having.  I'm a recent graduate from UW, working in the Tacoma area and I'm going to be starting up a design competition in the Seattle area with the help of some local sponsors.  I'm asking people on this forum to chime in their .02cents on the following:

- If you're looking to enter a design competition, would you be completely against it if there is a registration fee ( somewhere between $30 as an early bird - $75 late registration)?  What if there are no other costs involved? No shipping involved and all that jazz.

- Opposite question:  What if its free to enter, but there's costs at the end instead of upfront?  For example, if you send in materials you'd have to pay for shipping and the printing of materials.  I'm hoping I can get people from overseas, China, Australia, Canada, etc. to participate, but I know shipping can be a pain.  Not to mention if someone from NY wants to participate, it's not going to be easy for them to ship things.

Feedback would be great!

Aug 18, 13 6:29 pm
The Arquitektonix

My vote would be to pay, and just try to get in on the early bird special of 30 bucks. Printing costs wear down the plotter, the toner cartridges, the test prints, etc.. You hit the nail on the head regarding the shipping costs.  I think paying upfront would be the best alternative and less hectic for who ever is competing.  

Aug 18, 13 6:39 pm  · 
 · 

If someone is going to put in the time and effort to submit work they shouldn't have to pay for the privilege to do so. Production and mailing expenses are out-of-pocket costs of the entrant.

Entry fees create a barrier where there shouldn't be one - not for an established firm but certainly for a student or a struggling small office. Also, entry fees are commonly used simply to generate revenue. This is very common in the art world.