Archinect
anchor

Hiring ONLINE Master of Architecture graduates?

There are significant benefits of receiving an online Master's of Architecture degree. I understand that in doing so, there is a loss in networking and learning from classmates. On the other hand, one can learn at their own pace and possibly obtain the degree in 15 months. 

Are professionals that make hiring decisions concerned with online degrees? If you make hiring decisions, would you think twice about interviewing someone with an online MArch degree?

Thank you for your comments. 

http://onlinedegrees.ltu.edu/online-programs/college-of-architecture-and-design/online-master-of-architecture/

Aug 13, 13 2:52 pm
Benjamin_

Hi Adam,

I am a graduate of this program. I was the first fully online class through. I found the whole experience very rewarding and highly interactive. Most of the classes are your typical lecture format where Professors make videos every week and you just log in at your convince, watch and make posts. As for studio, LTU has a video portal software that allows you to see and interact with classmates, professors and guest critics. We had weekly 1-on-1 "desk" crits through this software and weekly group discussions. It was also HIGHLY encouraged that students make a trip to LTU twice during a studio semester for the mid-semester and final critiques, so be prepared for that.  

Yes, I think you lose a bit of the comradery of working alongside other students, but I didn't miss it. Personally, I think your Masters studio needs to be very focused and is more of a personal exploration in your topic of choice. You will still get plenty of interaction and comments.

As for how employers view an "online" degree? I don't see why they would view it any differently. It is an accredited program from a well known school. I worked full time through my degree and I have been employed ever since.

Good luck and let me know if you have any questions.

Aug 13, 13 4:24 pm  · 
 · 
citizen