Archinect
anchor

Versatility of degrees / quality / transferability... oh my.

bjulia

Hi there,

I have a couple of questions for folks that I haven't been able to really find concrete answers for. 

I have been admitted to begin a 3 year M. L. Arch at the University of Manitoba (Canada). I have a first masters from Oxford in an unrelated non-design discipline. My master's work was regarding individual negotiations with spatial change in rapidly evolving cultural space, which hopefully helps explains my interest in L. Arch. 

My problems are as follows:

1) Practically, and I really hope this doesn't sound like I'm a first class snob, how bad does it look to be coming from an Ivy to taking my MLArch at a non top of the line school? Should I be aiming to do exceptionally well in my foundation year, and transfer out to complete? This is my hometown, I'm here for family reasons, and I know the quality of the teaching at this University to be excellent. It is a place I'm familiar with as my undergraduate institution, and so it seemed like a good place to start something completely unfamiliar to me (design) and get a really good handle on things. Was this a mistake though, prospects wise? Will my first master's count for anything on my job applications when I'm done?