Archinect
anchor

Independent Contractor - rates & billing hrs

magentasky

So I have been working with an engineer as a 1099 IC for the past six months, offering architectural drafting.  I didn't have much work experience, having graduated two years ago.  At the beginning, we worked out an hourly rate that I was satisfied with (keeping in mind 30% will go to taxes).  So far he has been billing my services at 2.5x my hourly rate.  

But we just got a large project with the city and I just found out that he is billing all my hours on this project at 3.75x my rate!  This is all work (drafting + modeling) that I have done with little involvement from him.  So, basically on the work that I did, he is making way more profit than my hourly rate.  

I have a great working relationship with him and I'm surprised that he would try to sneak in so much profit without giving me a cut!  As I said, I'm new to this whole independent contractor deal and I didn't event think that he might up his billing rate for a bigger project (which now that I think about it, makes sense).  

My question is: how should I discuss this with him?  I saw his billing invoice by accident actually, and I'm not eager to tell him upfront about my discovery (wouldn't want him to deliberately start hiding his invoices from me).   How do I bring up the conversation and how do I negotiate for a higher rate on this project?  

I would appreciate any input/suggestions, especially from those of you with experience as independent contractors.   

Jul 18, 13 4:13 am
I'm under the impression that 3x hourly rate is standard to cover overhead and soft costs. Also, licensed engineers and architects have liabilities. They can be sued, or worse, lose their license. Those seem to be the main reasons. At least from what I remember from pro-practice class.
Jul 18, 13 4:36 am  · 
 · 
magentasky