Archinect
anchor

Becoming an "Autodesk Certified User" - Valuable to a Recent Graduate?

slodanz

Hello all,

I am a recent bachelors of architecture graduate, and like many recent grads, I am looking for ways to set myself apart from my peers in the hopes of employment.

While I have experience using Revit and have used it in previous internships, I feel many potential employers want applicants who are also very comfortable in AutoCAD and 3ds Max. I have very little experience using these programs, but would like to become comfortable with them in the hopes of securing a job. Since I am not working at an architecture firm right now that would potentially provide me with this experience, I looked into becoming an "Autodesk Certified User." The test itself isn't very expensive, but I would probably need to take a class or have some other form of education in order to pass the test ($400+).

Have you heard of many peers becoming an "Autodesk Certified User"? Do you believe it is an honorable achievement, or an unnecessary hurdle? Would I benefit more from something else entirely?

Here is the autodesk certification website for more information: http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/index?siteID=123112&id=14238655:

Thank you for any input!

Jul 18, 13 1:09 am
l3wis

no—don't bother with the certification. that is not helpful for architectural designers. if you wish to prove your competency with a given program, just include nice drawings or renderings created via it in your portfolio.

Jul 18, 13 9:52 am  · 
 · 

I'd second the motion.  No.

I would recommend looking into LEED AP and CDT.  Try to get your hands on a copy of the (PRM) Project Resource Manual, put out by the (CSI) Construction Specifications Institute, to study for the Construction Documents Technologist (CDT) exam... (hooray for abbreviations).

You might also consider looking at what can earn you IDP hours when you aren't employed  by an architect or engineer (of which there are many).