Archinect
anchor

Inches or millimeters?

Jul 11 '13 7 Last Comment
MaarjaW
Jul 11, 13 8:40 pm

Hi, 

Sorry if this is a stupid question but I graduated my BA architecture recently and moved to the US shortly after. I just wanted to ask do architects in here use inches or metric system when using CAD? Thanks

accesskb
Jul 11, 13 9:56 pm

xD  you need to know both.  Depending on the firm, you could use either metric or imperial,  although it seems like most firms are doing work in metric these day.  However, you'll almost always have to deal with both because different trades and suppliers manufacture or work according to how they've done it in the past

juventus7
Jul 11, 13 11:45 pm

I think it also depends a lot of what systems you have on the specific project and what the modular dimensions are. I have been trying to work with american standard sizes for metal studs (3 5/8 inches, etc). in meters... it is horrible. 

boy in a well
Jul 12, 13 7:48 am

regarding cad: just know how to scale/convert your files depending on where you're working or where your project is. In short - be flexible. Inches for a stateside project, metric otherwise.

most of my recent projects have in in Europe, but im in the states. Every sub is different as to what the base unit is (cm or mm, etc) - makes coordination a slight pain. but if its expected........its fine.

gruen
Jul 13, 13 8:25 am

Everything in the US is feet + inches.

Thecyclist
Jul 13, 13 12:16 pm

Uh, I tend to measure mine in inches

boy in a well
Jul 13, 13 1:00 pm

using centimeters is better than shaving your pubes.

MikeJarosz
Jul 19, 13 5:38 pm