Archinect
anchor

University Options

thegonz

Hello,

I am new to Archinect as this is my first post and I have a few questions about college majors. I am going to be a freshmen in college this fall and want to pursue an architecture major or something similar to it like industrial design. I am located in Virginia and my only options are in state colleges. The only problem is that I am attending  a community college for my first year and hope to transfer after that. I know that VTech does not admit transfer students to the arch program but possibly the id program. My two other options would be transfer to UVa for arch or as a worst comes to worst scenario, transfer to VCU and major in urban psychology with a minor in illustration to hopefully get a M.Arch in the future. Sorry for making this post so long, but any input is helpful.

Thanks

Jul 11, 13 12:53 am
observant

Your post is NOT long.  It's to the point, actually.

If you go the community college route, be forewarned that you have to excel to transfer to a good school.  Because they are not as competitive, sometimes they can make people a little lax.  Easier schools tended to do that to me.

I'm surprised that VT does not allow c.c. transfers into architecture but UVa does.  Are you sure?  You know they sort of have different reputations, though both good in their own ways.  Hell, if what you say is true, and VT doesn't let you in, but UVa does, jump on it.