Archinect
anchor

How do I get work experience in Revit?

magentasky

This is a serious question.  I graduated with my BArch two years ago and despite having taken classes in Revit and having completed school projects, prospective employers are not convinced!  I understand that working on school projects in Revit is VERY different than working on professional projects - unfortunately the offices I've been at the past few years did not use Revit.  I'm trying to convince my current boss to switch to Revit (so I can get some experience!) but it's a tough sell since he has a very small practice.  

I thought about taking the Revit Autodesk certification exam, but I have no idea whether I'm prepared for that or not.  I have not found any practice exams to gauge my skills.   Also, I'm not sure if a paper certification will make up for lack of experience.  

It's difficult to pick up freelance Revit work, as most freelance projects are on the smaller side and do not require BIM modeling.  

I've lost more than a few job opportunities because of this.  Because for some reason employers want ENTRY LEVEL associates to be proficient in EVERYTHING, and this is the ONE thing I'm lacking.  So what do I do?

Jun 25, 13 9:55 pm
backbay

why don't you try taking a set of drawings from the office and doing them over in revit in your spare time?  that'll give you the "work" experience (mostly) and then give you something to show prospective employers.  you can get trial and student versions and (gasp) pirated copies (honestly, i don't think its bad if your using it to learn because it'll help them with market penetration.  photoshop is easy for high schoolers to pirate for a reason... so they learn it, develop an interest, and then go on to use it professionally).

Jun 26, 13 8:40 pm  · 
 · 
Beepbeep

Shit just do some projects over and show them. Revit is easy it's design ability that's hard. 

Jun 26, 13 11:23 pm  · 
 · 
magentasky