Archinect
anchor

How do Architecture firms view Construction experience?

Bennythejetr
So a quick background. I have a Bachelors of Architecture I receive in 2006. Things were going well after graduation as I worked with a civil engineer for about 8 months, then an architecture firm for about 1.5 years. Then I was laid off and spent the next three years struggling to find work.

Last year I finally found a job working for a construction company as a project assistant doing shop drawings, estimates and schedules. At this point in my life I feel like sticking to this and work my way to being a project manager.

I just turned 30, and part of me still wants to be an architect. If 2-3 years down the line I decide to get back into architecture, how would my experience be viewed? Would it limit me to doing construction work as opposed to design work?

Jun 13, 13 2:47 pm
Anob

Yes it will. You could become a Project Architect not a Architectural Designer. If you want to be a designer you will have to start at the bottom of the Architecture office being a Draftsman and hopefully they promote you to a designer after years of drafting. My advice stay in construction and when you decide you want a new job you can apply for Project Architect and Project Manager jobs at Architecture oriented firms. Or you can work at a Architecture and do this  http://www.youtube.com/watch?NR=1&v=w70RQLtdVeU&feature=endscreen

Jun 13, 13 3:41 pm  · 
 · 
observant