Archinect
anchor

Rendering Corrugated Metal Cladding

Does anyone have a suggestion how to render a perforated and corrugated metal cladding. The original material is shown in the photo below. Each fold is about 2 1/2".

I use VectorWorks but I am looking for a general approach so I would appreciate answers from users of other programs.

Mar 26, 08 7:28 pm
mleitner

Just to elaborate the question a bit:

1. Would you use a texture map build an actual object?
2. How do you convey the transparency created by the perforation?
3. How would could you imitate the depth of the folds?

Mar 26, 08 7:40 pm  · 
 · 
xtbl

i have limited 3d modeling experience, but from what i remember from my formz class 4 years ago, you'd use a transparency map to create the holes, and perhaps a bump map for the corrugations.

i'm sure others will have more detailed help.

Mar 26, 08 7:57 pm  · 
 · 
Carl Douglas (agfa8x)

Depends on how far the material will be seen from. If it's up close, then you need to model the square corrugations, and use a texture for the hex mesh. If it's only seen from a distance, then you are probably looking at three maps:

1. a metal material colour map
2. a hex mesh transparency map
3. a corrugated bump map.

Mar 26, 08 7:59 pm  · 
 · 
mleitner

Thanks for the help. I'm working on making it happen (bump map is giving me a tough time), only a matter of time.

Mar 27, 08 11:55 pm  · 
 · 
garpike

1. I typically model the corrugations and use a transparency map for the perf.
2. Use a texture map (or in this case, call it a transparency map)
3. Model it the folds. It's precise.

Mar 28, 08 12:09 am  · 
 · 

i haver tried both methods above. garpikes gives best result, including from a distance.

Mar 28, 08 5:29 am  · 
 · 
trace™

Model the profile, texture map the pattern. This is the only way you'll get accurate highlights.

Mar 28, 08 8:36 am  · 
 · 
mleitner