Archinect
anchor

UCLA or U of Michigan? Undergraduate architecture. NEED ADVICE!!

viviarch

I am choosing between the Bachelor of Art, architectural studies program at UCLA and the Bachelor of Science, architecture program at University of Michigan.

My ultimate goal is to enter a good school like Harvard, Columbia or Cornell to pursue my Master of Architecture degree.

Which school will prepare me better for graduate school? and how is the program of both schools? Is there any big difference between Bachelor of Art and Bachelor of Science?

I am a transfer student btw....

Really in a hard dilemma now! Advice and suggestion NEEDED!!!!

Apr 27, 13 11:15 am
observant

Yeah.  I've got an opinion.  UCLA JUST added on the BA.  They've been known for only having graduate work over the years.  I looked at what the BA entails.  In my mind, it's weak.  Not only that, it's on the quarter system, which sucks.  It's a better place for the M.Arch. 

Michigan has had the BS for a long time.  As far as overall reputation as a university, they are now about the same.  Michigan's program seems to be more slightly more substantial, though it has been diluted minimally in practicality over the last few decades.  Nah, the BA or BS is just a moniker.  Michigan also uses semesters.  The only advantage I see that UCLA has is LA, with its weather and the metro area.  As for everything else, I'd say UMich.

However, if you are already IN California, then go to UCLA because it's a deal for in-state students.  From out of state, such as neither CA nor MI, go to Michigan.

Apr 27, 13 1:03 pm  · 
 · 
batman

UCLA undergrad is STRONG (i graduated from there)

they've sent many students to GSD, PRINCETON, COLUMBIA, YALE, etc.

I never been to Michigan, but LA OWNS MICHIGAN IN so many ways. it's a great place to be in - weather, people, art, culture, architecture, etc. etc.

Apr 27, 13 7:15 pm  · 
 · 
observant

^