Archinect
anchor

Masters program at GSD - MARCH II or MDes?

mcho

Hello world!

I have a 5 year professional degree in Architecture and I am interested in applying for the masters program at the GSD.

I have worked for a year + and will be working for about 9 months after before pursuing the masters program. I have a special interestst in the Tchnology part of the Mdes or I could try to apply for the March II program at the GSD and focus on similar stuff.

I need advise on what I should do, which degree would be much easier to get in to,etc

Thanks guys!

Feb 27, 08 4:48 pm
walldrug

From what I understand the MDes is considerably easier to get in to. But the programs are quite different: MArch II is studio-based, MDes is not.

Feb 28, 08 4:16 am  · 
 · 
ha_no

mdes is not a design-oriented degree i believe

Feb 28, 08 7:48 am  · 
 · 
mcho

Hmm.. interesting.

There are things that I like about both programs. If I get into MDes I can focus on what I really like to explore while getting into March II will toughen up my skills all roundedly.

Ive read sth about the possibilities about applying for 2 degrees simultaneously, would the application appear weaker because it might seem like I dont know what I want?!

Feb 28, 08 8:32 am  · 
 · 
aml

mcho, can't tell you anything about the dual application part, but i am an m.des. alumni- although the program has changed since then, it used to be shorter. this is my impression of what the m.des. is- lots of time during arch school, people say [some people], "i wish i didn't have studio right now so i could focus on this class or on this particular research" - if you were one of those people, and would like to focus on a particular research area, it's a great program.