Archinect
anchor

Intern

Alan Abdulkader
Hello,

Just wanted to share my situation and I would appreciate some suggestions. It has been two and half years since I graduated and still cannot find intern position. I have masters and B.S. in architecture and BA in fine arts from a state university.

I have tried so many different ways approaching different architecture firms including walking in after hours to by pass the front desk and ended up talking to the boss, emailing/calling, had portfolio reviews with different firms and continually attending architecture lectures. So far I have contacted 430 firms: maybe around 60-70% Seattle, and rest at New York, Chicago, California, MN, few in Oregon, and abroad too.

Usually most of the email responds saying that I did not much their needs because of no experience. However, once a while a few writes back with some positive feedback regarding my resume and portfolio, but not hiring. I usually send one page resume and about 4-5 pages sample work and take more with me to the interview. I only had 4 interviews and the last one was a year ago. I had two more interview opportunities in LA and Chicago, but once they notice I was in Seattle area, they went with someone else. All of my interviews also went well and I got encouraged with what I’m doing, yet nothing.

Biggest problem it is because I don't have any office experience and I didn't had internship while I was in school. I even offered many firms to work as volunteer to get experience, still nothing.
Anyway, it has been very frustrated and not sure what else to do. I'm still contacting firms, but I feel it doesn't make any difference. I know everyone before, with, and after me who graduated managed to get intern and a few of them even changed firms too…

Thank you everyone for your suggestions and feedbacks!

Alan,

Apr 23, 13 2:59 am
wahahauhu

can i see your portfolio?

Apr 23, 13 5:34 am  · 
 · 
ogunedo