Archinect
anchor

B.Arch interested in Computer Science

phillipjk

Hi all:

After weighing a number of interests for a graduate degree over the last couple of years, I've finally honed in on Computer Science for several reasons:

>> It's a departure from the realm of architecture. I don't have many deep-seated issues with the current professional discourse but find far more interest and value in melding technical science thinking into architecture (and vice-versa) to try and push the boundaries of the profession than I do with adding more architectural thinking to my already 5-year foundation.

>> Pursuing tech interests will be more accessible.

>> I graduated 6 years ago, have been working at architecture firms since and am finishing up my ARE exams.

That said, I'm wondering if anyone with (or has technical knowledge of) a CS background could speak to the challenges I should expect as I investigate and pursue a master's in CS. In the little investigating I've done thus far, I'm narrowing my search to schools that have both CS and architecture programs with the idea that I could begin to establish a dialog between the two.

Also, if anyone has connections to people who would be good to reach out to I would greatly appreciate any and all contacts. Feel free to send me a note through Archinect.

Many Thanks -Phillip

Apr 21, 13 5:39 pm
accesskb

wise guy... I think architecture is a field where you need to have a backup.  A profession you could jump into if architecture doesn't pan out how you envisioned, or perhaps purely for financial reasons.  Jobs, projects and work in architecture isn't a guarantee and takes a lot of years before you even know it will work out or not. 

Apr 21, 13 7:19 pm  · 
 · 
arri

I recently read an article regarding learning to write code without the need of going to college.  http://tinyurl.com/bp8ut35

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/huff-wires/20130412/us-techie-boot-camp/?utm_hp_ref=sports&ir=sports

Apr 22, 13 12:13 am  · 
 ·