Archinect
anchor

Ivy League school = succesful firm owner/stararchitect?

LizFibleuil
I'm an international student who is currently attending VTech March II program. My dream has always been to create great an international reknown firm, but I've always wondered that because I didn't go to an Ivy League school or similar for my schooling I wont be able to do so. I see great architects like Rem, Frank Gehry, Toyo Itto and they seemed to have made it throught, but could the same happen right now, when where you come from seems to define who you are to become?

Apr 19, 13 11:52 pm
accesskb

or you could have no formal education and be self-taught like Tadao Andao and go on to win the Pritzker prize too ^^

Apr 20, 13 2:26 am  · 
 · 
LITS4FormZ

"... but could the same happen right now, when where you come from seems to define who you are to become?"

Are we still under a medieval class system?

Apr 20, 13 10:08 am  · 
 · 
I think that's exactly what the OP is asking, LITS. And it's a legitimate question, I think.
Apr 20, 13 11:17 am  · 
 · 
accesskb

Its what you DO today, that'll determine what you become tomorrow, not which schools and association you're a member of.

Apr 20, 13 6:15 pm  · 
 · 
observant

I agree and disagree.

True, cream rises to the top.

However, there is also a visibility issue - those who come from schools with tight alumni networks and come from affluence will have an easier time showcasing their work and courting clients than will those who don't.  It means that the person in the latter group has to swim upstream all that much harder.

Apr 20, 13 8:49 pm  · 
 · 

capacity is also part of the equation.  it is not easy to run any kind of office, never mind a world class one.  access to work is partly built on who you know, so yeah the network that comes from ivy schools is important.