Archinect
anchor

Need help, how much to ask for, $ per sf...?

Sundayz

I was given an offer to do some work on the side, for a builder who designs and builds homes.  Now I was given the opportunity to give my own rate for $ per sf.  Not sure what I should ask for per sf, I will be doing permit working drawings for reno's and new construction homes.  I have 4 years experience but have always been either paid hourly or salary, so don't have a knowledge of what to ask for per sf.  I have tried doing research on a value but it varies greatly or its just very old obsolete numbers...  Should I ask for a different rate for reno's as apposed to new construction?

Apr 17, 13 1:00 pm
chris-chitect

A family was asked me to design a home for them and pay me by the square foot, it was a terrible experience. If it's a must I'd work out a lump sum/fixed price for the risk and labour you're taking on with permit drawings and calculate the numbers that way.

I think when people ask for a square foot design cost they are showing their disregard for the amount of effort that goes into design and drawings and the variation. Throw a staircase in and suddenly it becomes a bad deal for you.

I don't know where you are, but in BC we have the tariff of fees on the AIBC website that outlines the common methods of payment for architects. Use similar documents to educate your clients.

Apr 17, 13 5:22 pm  · 
 · 
CrazyHouseCat