Archinect
anchor

WUSTL March 2+(2.5years) vs USC March1(2years)

goldhammer

Hi everybody.

Anyone can help me out?

I am a student with architecture design background but I won't received a professional degree in architecture. Recently, I have been accepted to both programs and I don't know how to pick. Both programs seems to be very good for me.

The first one is WUSTL March 2+(2.5years) .I know that WUSTL rank higher than USC in DI ranking. But my concern is the st louis city is not as big as los angeles.

And the second one is USC March1(2years) , which I also want to go. Although I cannot find any information from DI ranking(except ranking No.4 in west region), but it has a really good location, and when I have time I can go to visit UCLA or Sci-arc when they have some show or lecture. 

So, could you please tell me which one is your choice?Please let me know your opinion. 

Thank you very much!

Mar 28, 13 8:54 pm
rrnkenshin

Hi goldhammer,

I was in a similar situation with you a few weeks ago, considering between USC and Syracuse. I was also rejected from WUSTL, just to say that I have researched about WUSTL too.

The biggest difference between USC and WUSTL, i think, is that USC's graduate program focuses strongly on the relation between architecture and urban elements. As you can see in their student works publication link below, many of their projects are case-studies investigations of buildings in the urban context, specifically that of Los Angeles. They also have a good reputation for integrating computational/parametric design into their projects and actually they tried to build some of these kinds. (google Bloom by Doris Sung or Alvin Huang...) Besides, the location of USC is great too. Let alone what you'll be able to see in LA, there are also numerous great works in the nearby San Francisco (works of Herzog, Mario Botta, Renzo Piano, Richard Meier,...etc..) Plus a cozy weather that could allow you to go out more and whenever you want to.