Archinect
anchor

HELP!!! Two ways to be an architect, which way is better??

tx16

I am now a high school student, and I want to be an architect in the future. I found two ways to be an architect: (a) get a B.arch degree and then go to the graduate school for about one year and get a M.arch degree. (b) get a BS.arch degree and then go to the graduate school for two years and get a M.arch degree. I am now confused that which way can learn more knowledge and the skills are more useful for the future design? Is BS.arch+ M.arch better than B.arch+ M.arch? Are there any differences between these two ways?? Thanks!

Mar 27, 13 6:02 pm
mtt9999

BArch first without question.

Mar 27, 13 6:07 pm  · 
 · 

You might want to consider education in a field where there are actually some paying jobs.

Mar 27, 13 6:07 pm  · 
 · 
CrazyHouseCat

I went the BS-Arch + MArch route. The benefit to me (and the main problem to the opposing camp) is that it forces you to get your masters. 

No huge difference in terms of which will give you a better education, which IMO depend largely on the school / progam.

Mar 27, 13 6:44 pm  · 
 · 
x-jla

The third and best option is to become rich first.

Mar 27, 13 6:56 pm  · 
 · 
mfischer3387

B.Arch, because who would want to spend another 50 grand for a M.arch that's just as valuable in the eyes of NCARB

Mar 27, 13 7:03 pm  · 
 · 
observant

Come on, folks, it's not that linear.  The B.Arch. could be more costly than the 4+2 system.  It depends on where you go to school.

My suggestion is 4 + 2, so BS or BA Arch + M. Arch. 2.  A couple of reasons.  You could save and go local/in-state the first time and go somewhere else next time that costs more money to treat yourself, if you want to be an architect.  You can get a better and more diversified education by doing 4 + 2.  It's not a year, either.  It's 9 more months.