Archinect
anchor

Student loan/debt concern + money management solutions/strategies

Hey guys,

I just have some concerns with the debt I would accrue after graduation if I were to pursue a graduate degree coming this Fall 2013. Even though I've been granted a "full" entrance scholarship, I would be walking out with at 100k in debt (in the form of federal student loans and from private banks in the U.S.). As I am an international student, financial aid outside of the one I have received is more difficult to come by. 

I know location often times determines the general scale of one's salary right out of grad school, but here are some questions I would like answered if anyone is willing to reply. *If you can identify with the first question, then you are likely able to respond to the ones following that:

1. Is there anyone that out there that currently shoulders this kind of debt?

2. If so, how are you getting by? What have you found yourself cutting back as part of your           budget? 

3. Is it manageable? And how have you planned your repayment with your bank/gov? 

4. Can you provide a general/ballpark breakdown of how you budget your monthly income? (What percent goes to repayment, what goes to rent, what goes to food/transportation..etc.)

I understand architecture really isn't a lucrative profession by any means, and we all push through it because we either  A) believe there is some kind of light at the end of the tunnel that will make this kind of financial instability "worth it", B) or the love of the practice/lifestyle far exceeds any kind of sacrifice. 

These concerns more than likely has been asked and addressed in this forum, but I haven't been able to find anything that I felt was adequate. Please and thank you for those that can take the time to respond!

Mar 24, 13 10:39 pm
accesskb