Archinect
anchor

Riba I or Riba II? - Please help me solve my question

mya90

Hello,

I am an undergraduate architecture student from Lodz, Poland. I study at International Faculty of Engineering at Technical University of Lodz. Currently I am doing my third year at Ecole Speciale d'Architecture in Paris, Frace. My Architecture course combines Architecture and Civil engineering that is why it lasts 4 years. After graduating I will be given a Bsc diploma. 

For my master ( graduate course) I would like to apply to Bartlett or Westminster. But I have no idea how my undergraduate diploma would be taken into consideration. Should I apply for RIBA II? Because I will have completed my undergraduate course in Poland - I think its almost the same as RIBA I. 

There is only one Faculty of Architecture at Technical University of Cracow that provides RIBA I diploma. That is why I am not sure what to do with my future after graduating from Technical University of Lodz

I would really like to go abroad. I have been thinking about London, but also maybe Berlin Technical University.  But I like the ideas of Units at Bartletts and some of the professors that i had met at Ecole Speciale d'Architecture encouraged me to try to apply to Bartlett. 

The only thing that scares me is the diploma recognition. I would not like to retake my undergraduate programme once again to get accepted to RIBA II ( master?)course...

Can someone help me with my questions?

Thank you in advance,

Maja P.

Mar 17, 13 1:44 pm
TED

Hi Maja,

Each Uni has different prescription rules on their validation so you need to contract them directly - Under Bologna Protocol, they should allow you to take Part II before getting Part I - but some schools don't write their docs that way [its complex why they don't].  You still need part I but you can apply at any time.

There is some guidance on the RIBA web site. 

Mar 17, 13 2:09 pm  · 
 · 
mya90

Thank you Ted,